Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup


The Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup has been the championship for American soccer since 1914.  Originally named The National Challenge Cup its champion would be awarded the Dewar Cup, donated by Sir Thomas Dewar, a Scottish whiskey distiller who promoted soccer in the early 20th Century.  Brooklyn FC was crowned the first champion of the tournament after defeating Brooklyn Celtic by a 2-1 score on May 16, 1914.  Today, the single-elimination tournament includes the clubs sanctioned by the United States Soccer Federation from MLS to amateur clubs who qualify through their perspective leagues.

Detroit City FC first entered the competition in 2014 as an amateur club in the NPSL after their undefeated 2013 season and Great Lakes Division Final defeat.  The team returned in 2015, 2016, and 2018 as an amateur club.  Once they entered USL-Championship in 2022, the second-tier professional league in the US soccer pyramid, inclusion has become automatic.  Some of City’s most memorable moments have occurred in US Open Cup competition.

2014, May 7 – RWB Adria

2015, May 13 – at Michigan Bucks.

2016, May 11 – at Michigan Bucks.
2016, May 18 – at Louisville City FC.

2018, May 9 – Michigan Bucks.
2018 May 16 – FC Cincinnati.

2022 April 5 – Michigan Stars FC.
2022 April 19 – Columbus Crew SC
2022 May 10 – Louisville City FC

2023 April 4 – Gold Star FC (match summary)